Uglyhead is an experimental electro-rock project originating from Washington State and headed by Jake Alejo.  The project has taken many forms throughout the years from highly structured collaborations with various musicians to solo improv noise performances.

Jake Alejo's experimental Uglyhead recordings started out circulating late night college radio shows and eventually lead to live performances and a full length self-released album.  In 2007 Automation Records released the Live Uglyhead Album "From time to time..." and the subsequent E.P.'s entitled "Inward" and "Outward."

In 2010 Uglyhead track "Sets in the East" was selected to appear on the video game "Greg Hastings Paintball 2" which is released on Xbox 360, PS3 and Wii.

2012 saw the release of The Garden, a 3 year collabortive effort between Jake Alejo, Nick Katich (Palace of Worms), Patrick Huerta (...This Is How It Ends, He whose Ox is Gored) Jeremiah Smith (extraordinary pigeons), Jenson Charnell (Halcion Halo) and Taylor Izak (Stoneclover). The Garden is a concept album released in two seperate versions.  A standard 10 song edition and a 2 disc, 16 song special edition. The Garden tells a bleak story and has been reviewed favorably for its disturbing and dizzying atmosphere. The Garden was released by Automation Records and received distribution from The Flenser.

After touring for The Garden Uglyhead self released two 7" records: "Arms Of Memories/Fool's Errand" and "Faces Of Fingers/My Feet Are Falling Off"

In 2017 there was a collaborative ambient cassette released for Halloween containing a collection of spooky sounds submited by Patrick Huerta (Unnova Nights), Jeremiah Smith (Extraordinary Pigeons), Dominic Smelt (Solid State) and Julie Mohr. The sounds were manipulated and mixed by Jake Alejo and self released as "Uglyhead Halloween Sounds Vol. 1"

In 2018 Automation Records has released a second live album: "Time and time again..." which feature songs from solo performances taken from a small West Coast tour.  A tour to support this album was completed in October of 2018.

Jake Alejo is currently working on a new 5 song E.P. entitled "Disembodied" which will be released 4/26/2019. The title-track single "Disembodied" was released 1/1/2019.